Name: Jonathan Groth

Hometown: Currently living in Miami, FL – grew up in South Windsor, CT – originally from Olean, NY

Title: Attorney

When did you begin working at Damian & Valori, LLP | Culmo Trial Attorneys? How did you get your job here? I started in November 2019, a colleague with whom I previously worked recommended me for the position

In a nutshell, what do you do your in role (one sentence or less)? I am currently focused on supporting our federal equity Receiver team with a number of tasks including asset recovery, fraudulent transfer litigation, and general matters related to our firm’s role as counsel to the Receiver

What projects or cases you are working on? I am currently working on a wide variety of issues with three of the firm’s federal Receivership matters involving the FTC, SEC, and CFTC regulatory agencies.

Why did you choose this profession? I became interested in the profession at a young age after some of my first lessons on the U.S. Constitution.  I took any courses that I could that centered on the history of law practice and modern-day practice. I met with neighbors and friends that were attorneys to talk about the practice of law and educational and career paths.  It is something that I have always aspired towards.  I find the practice of law to be intellectually challenging and rewarding.

What do you like most about your job? I love being a trusted source of knowledge and expertise for people while helping problem solve for complex issues for those in need.

What do you like most about DVC? Working with a talented, passionate, and hard-working group of people that truly approach every case and every issue with a team-oriented focus.  Knowing that every member of our team is always there to help in whatever capacity makes going to work every day enjoyable

Family Snapshot? My wife Stacey and I met in high school and both moved to Florida for graduate school in 2009.  We were married in 2013 at the Fairchild Botanical Garden in Miami and we have two kids that we adore and love to spend time with, our three-year old daughter Gwenevere and our one-year old son Gideon.  Of course, our first “kids” are our two husky/lab dogs, Delta and Echo

Word that describes you: Trustworthy

What’s on your Netflix list: I love a good classic blockbuster like Jurassic Park, Back to the Future, and Indiana Jones! But with autumn now here and October right around the corner, my wife and I love to put on some horror classics like Poltergeist and Evil Dead, we are big into Halloween at our house!

First paying job: I had a lot of odd jobs growing up in Connecticut (well drilling, package delivery, painting houses, after-market audio/video car installation, football referee, and so many others) but my first was probably washing cars at car dealerships when I was 15.  I would wash hundreds of cars on the dealership lots on the weekends in the summer in exchange for a staggering $100.  Unfortunately, at 15, my car washing empire didn’t take off.

Your proudest accomplishment: Becoming a dad, nothing will ever top that

What do you do when you are not working? My favorite thing to do is spend time with my family. My wife and I try to do as much as we can with our kids.  We love to travel with them (pre-COVID), we try to take advantage of getting out on the water with them and just generally experience adventure with them to create long lasting memories. We love to discover new places and experience new things even right here in our own backyard from nature walks in hidden parks around Miami to connect with locals at Oktoberfest in Munich.

Recommend an article or a book: After Game of Thrones ended, I took to reading the books in search of a more satisfying ending.  I, like the entire fanbase, am still waiting on Winds of Winter but I really enjoyed the detail and sprawling nature of George RR Martin’s series and I would also recommend his other books set in the world of Westeros.